All Hands on Deck: Learning Adventures Aboard Old Ironsides
curriculum home
how to use this online curriculum
preview activities
table of contents
USS Constitution, Johnson

Site Credits

About the Museum
The USS Constitution Museum was founded in 1972 to collect, preserve and display materials illuminating the human aspects of the sailing frigate USS Constitution. The Museum brings to life the stories of the individuals who authorized, built, served on and preserved her. Through hands-on exhibits, displays of historic artifacts, computer simulated re-enactments, and public
programming, the Museum strives to make a personal connection to our American past and the heritage of USS Constitution. The Museum is located adjacent to USS Constitution in Boston National Historical Park, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston. Open 362 days per year, the Museum welcomes thousands of visitors from around the world annually.

About the Author
Penny Parsekian is a free-lance writer who lives in New London, Connecticut. Author of several museum curriculum units, she writes on subjects ranging from history to the environment. She has written for the New York Times, National Geographic Society and Scholastic, Inc.

About the Designers
Jane Cuthbertson and Ted Groves are principals at Myriad Inc. ( in Boston, Massachusetts. Their clients include cultural and educational institutions and corporations. Their award-winning work ranges from books and packaging to World Wide Web sites.

The online version of All Hands on Deck was made possible by a grant
from the Institute of Museum and Library Services and a private
foundation that wishes to remain anonymous.

The video and original printed publication were made possible in part through grants from
Analysis + Technology, Inc.
Arthur K. Watson Charitable Trust
Fifth Third Bank Foundation
National Historical Society (
State Street Foundation
Sarah Scaife Foundation
Vira I. Heinz Endowment

Additional Supporters:
Walter and Marie Coyle Foundation
National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Allegheny County Committee
Executive Club, National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Mrs. Richard P. Taylor, President

Homepage illustration is a reproduction of an oil painting of USS Constitution by artist Gordon Grant (1875-1962) which today hangs in the White House. In 1930 it was presented to President Herbert Hoover by the National Save “Old Ironsides” Committee. Grant was a leading marine artist of his day. A native of San Francisco, he specialized in illustrating clipper ships in port and at sea. His paintings are hung in major American museums from California to
New York.

Our sincere gratitude to the following individuals
and organizations for their support in the
development of these materials:

• Old Ironsides Bicentennial Foundation, Inc.
• National Park Service
• Naval Historical Center, Washington, D.C.
• Michael J. Crawford
• John Reilly
• Captain Charles T. Creekman, Jr.
• The Navy League of the United States, Greater Cincinnati Council
• Leon F. Kaufman, Founding Trustee, USS Constitution Museum and Schoolmaster,USS Constitution
• CDR Tyrone G. Martin, USN, Ret., 58th Commanding Officer, USS Constitution
• CDR David M. Cashman, USN, Ret., 62nd Commanding Officer, USS Constitution
• Patrick Otton, Naval Historical Center Detachment, Boston

USS Constitution Museum Bicentennial Education Committee:
• Gordon Abbott, Jr.
• Robert Allison
• Joe Berman, Esq.
• Sheila Cooke-Kayser
• Bob Fowkes
• Tom Kennelly
• Margaret McAteer
• BMC(SW) Joseph Wilson, United StatesNavy, USS Constitution
• CDR Michael C. Beck, USN, Ret., 64th Commanding Officer, USS Constitution,ex-officio
• Dr. William M. Fowler, Jr. ex-officio

Massachusetts Teacher Evaluation Committee:
Susan Balogh, Edith C. Baker School, Chestnut Hill
Caroline Bibber, McCarthy Middle School, Chelmsford
Carol Ducharme, Home Schooling Instructor, Southampton
Bob Fowkes, St. Brigid’s School, South Boston
Tom Kennelly, McCormack School, Dorchester
George Kurlychek, Harwich Middle School, Harwich
Thomas Maher, Malden Middle School, Malden
Valerie McFadden, Marblehead Middle School, Marblehead
Hubert McLaughlin, Lowell High School, Lowell
Diana White, Harvard Kent School, Charlestown

USS Constitution Museum Staff and Volunteers:
• Burt Logan, Executive Director
• Marilyn Weiss Cruickshank-Project Manager for original Curriculum Publication and Video
• Michael Bonanno
• Adrian Bresler
• Walter Coyle
• Corey Cronin
• Margherita Desy
• Marianne Galvin
• Chris Herman
• Edwin Knights
• Kate Lennon
• Sarah Hilgendorff List
• Derek Moore
• Stephanie Nichols
• Anne Grimes Rand
• Larry Rice
• Marianne Seidman
• Sarah Snyder
• Steve Stavros
• Mary Lou Tracy
• Sarah Watkins
• Chris White
• Tara Winsininski
• Carrol Young

Staff for All Hands On Deck Online Curriculum (2005)
Kristin Gallas
Margaret Warren
Andrea West


curriculum creditsuss constitution museum homecopyright information uss constitution museum logo